A Cause for (some) Celebration

I’ve been holding back. I’ve been couching my words. I’ve been wary of posting anything with too much excitement or too much fanfare. I know this therapy is not a panacea or a cure-all, I know it hasn’t worked miracles (well, for some it has), and that is hasn’t worked for everyone or every condition.

Up until this point, no matter how good I felt or how encouraging my bowels had been, I always had the tiny, nagging thought that maybe, just maybe it was too good to be true. Maybe it was a cruel coincidence, that the helminths didnt “take” and I was just feeling better out of randomness. Or worse, it was placebo. No longer.

Two weeks ago I sent a stool sample to Marc at AIT for analysis, and the results came back as simply “very good ova production.” I know it sounds silly, but just the simple confirmation that I’m hosting a healthy population of helminths is a huge relief for me. Up until this point, I had no actual confirmation that I even had a single helminth alive inside me. Now I can finally start to fully enjoy the feeling of being well. And I do mean well. I was inoculated on June 20th, about five months ago. The first month was up and down, I still had some bad bowel days. The second month, things got better. Third month, I was basically having great BMs everyday. Over the last two months, I have had perfect bowels, every single day. One BM per day, solid, no mucus, no pain. Every time I go into the bathroom it’s like christmas morning. Except instead of a new bicycle or a sony playstation, I get a nice, solid poop.

Oh, over the past few months I had tapered my IBD medicine (Colazal) to just 1/3 of a dose. Now I’m completely off from it, have been for over a month now. Have not seen any changes at all.

I can only hope to continue experience such excellent results. I’ve been biting my tongue for so long, trying to be patient. I still can’t say “mission accomplished,” but I am feeling more confident about this therapy by the day.

So:

Here’s to you (all), my little colon comrades. Kick up your feet (err tail), stretch out your legs, I mean your, uh, body? Relax, feel at home. Find a nice mucosal membrane and thread your little tail in, take some nibbles of my nutritious intestinal lining tissue, then maybe have a nap. Eat, sleep, grow big and strong and live a full life. Don’t forget to flex your tail muscles when that slender and curvaceous female whipworm wiggles on by. Go ahead, go ask her out. Don’t be shy. I hear the view from the  top of my cecum is excellent this time of year. Take her out, show her the world (of my intestines). Yeah, that’s right, move a little closer. Wait until the moment is just right for that first.. kiss (do they do that?). You were born for this. Try to work with the rhythm of the peristalsis contractions. I’m expecting a healthy ova production so keep up the mating, my little comrades in love.

9 responses

  1. I am really glad it’s working for you. I got them in April and stopped all medications by July, so I have a similar experience as you. What does your doctor say about it? You did tell him, right?
    When are you planning to have a colonoscopy next time? I’d love to find out how many worms actually survived.

    November 27, 2010 at 6:13 am

  2. Hurrah!

    November 27, 2010 at 3:25 pm

  3. Annette

    I didn’t know you had stopped all medications. That is truly remarkable. It was worth all the worry. Yeah!!!

    November 27, 2010 at 3:34 pm

  4. Nancy

    No freakin’ way: solid BM’s? Every day? No more meds? I am so excited for you! What a wonderful outcome.

    I was supposed to start treatment 10 days ago, but had to postpone until January. Really improves my mood to hear how great you are doing, so I can hope for the same!

    November 30, 2010 at 12:37 am

    • Yes it’s an incredible feeling, although I worry about promoting my own experience too much. Most people who have tried helminths seem to do much better with them, but it can vary.

      Excited to hear that you will be trying them soon! Let me know how it goes for you. Will you blog about it? 😉

      December 6, 2010 at 3:03 am

      • I should also emphasize that I my IBD was under control when I began therapy. The last major flare-up I had was last winter, for about the entire month of January I was getting pretty bad until I went on a prednisone regime and stopped the flaring. It seems that it’s pretty important to be under control when you begin the therapy.

        December 6, 2010 at 3:05 am

  5. Nancy, why did you postpone?

    November 30, 2010 at 2:49 am

    • Nancy

      No big deal…just a logistical issue. I will be more than ready to take the plunge in January!

      December 3, 2010 at 4:31 am

  6. That’s great news!

    December 1, 2010 at 2:50 am

Leave a Reply

