Update: A New Normal?

So its been a while since an update, sorry for that, but the beginning of the semester always gets a bit out of control, and I’m teaching my first course, which is a big challenge for me.

What’s wonderful is, despite all this new stress that usually aggravates an already irritated bowel, and sends me running to the bathroom before and after class, my BMs have been very consistent over the past three weeks. It’s been almost four months since I inoculated with whipworm, and although it took some time, things have been very stable overall for the last two months. I think I’m getting to the point where I can feel comfortable saying (with all due caution!) that I’ve reached a “new normal” for my ulcerative colitis.

So, the new normal. For me, I’ve noticed that I’ve fallen into a pattern of about 6-7 days of solid BMs, followed by one day of a looser BM, then back to solid. The great news is I’m still at only 1 or 2 at most BMs per day. Also, and I think this is really important, eating a healthy diet is still really important, because the only days I’ve seen any mucus at all with a looser stool has been when I’ve eaten lots of sugar, fried food, or dairy–which I almost never eat. I went to a state fair splurged on eating lots of fries, sausage, and fried dough, and paid for it in the morning.

I can’t say that I’ve achieved a 100% normal bowel system (nor do I ever really expect to), but things are markedly better. I’m still taking medication, although I’m down to taking 250-500mg of Colazal per day, down from the standard dose of 750mg per day. I don’t take any other meds, but still take fish oil, vit D, and some magnesium supplements.

The best part is the stability. IBD is so destructive to people’s lives, aside from the awful pain and medication side effects, because it removes the ability for someone to assume that their day or their week or their month or their year will be stable health-wise. I love to travel, and have struggled in past years due to IBD complications. I’ve avoided moving for jobs because of IBD.

I think I’ve still got room for improvement, but am trying to fight the urge to perfect things. With this ancient medicine, we have to have patience. I do think that I could probably benefit from more whipworm, as well as the introduction of hookworm ultimately. But this is a conversation for me to have with Marc at AIT in the future. I’m not at the point of doing that yet, but I would like to further experiment with re-naturalizing my intestinal ecology as long as I keep seeing good results.

Until then, keep up the good fight, my little colon comrades 🙂

7 responses

  1. HS

    wow, that’s wonderful to hear. Really good news. How much whipworm did you take 4 months ago?

    What brand of vitamin D and fish oil do you take? Is the vitamin D in gelcaps with oil or pill form? Is the magnesium chelated or regular?

    September 25, 2010 at 4:40 pm

  2. I took 1,000 TT ova four months ago. I should have probably taken more, but my UC was moderate not severe so it still seems to be helping. At some point I’m going to talk to Marc about up-dosing.

    I’m not sure of the VitD brand, it is in gelcaps with oil. For magnesium, I’ve been taking some mag glycinate, as well as trying to eat more foods (black beans, avacados) which have mag in them.

    September 25, 2010 at 5:03 pm

  3. Patience is a virtue. I don’t possess it, but I know it’s a virtue! 😉

    September 25, 2010 at 10:20 pm

  4. HS

    I took 2500 TT in the middle of August. We’ll see how that works out but I was already in remission from 25 NA taken in April.

    September 25, 2010 at 10:26 pm

  5. Hey Mike,

    Re the magnesium, I’m FINALLY getting relief from twice daily baths in magnesium chloride. I’ve been doing this for about 2 months now (and it is a nuisance sometimes) but I have lost my insomnia, anxiety, numbness, tingling, and the twitching is down by over 60%. My RBCell magnesium test is going up too! It’s .2 points from normal now, and was much lower before. Still not normal, but an improvement!

    The IM shots were useless, as was the oral. I’m only taking 200 mg. of magnesium glycinate a day, so hardly any.

    I use about 2 cups in each bath. The stuff costs me $30 a week, but I reboil the bath water once in a large canning pot (takes about 4.5 pots worth), then I drain the water into my garden.

    Foot soaks kind of helped, but not consistently. Neither did spraying it on my body.

    I know you’re busy, but maybe try one bath a night. Give it several weeks. I still have worse symptoms when I sweat a lot, it’s really hot, or I have diarrhea. Though I’ve had horrible diarrhea now for over a week, and I’m doing fine as long as I soak.

    A gentle solution to a terrible problem that’s been plaguing me for years. Highly recommended!

    Now if I could just get my Crohn’s back into remission…

    October 6, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    • Hi Debora, thanks so much for the post. Honestly the magnesium thing has been frustrating, I’ve tried so many oral magnesium, and even the spray on mag oil, not really getting results. My doctor didnt want to check my RBCell mag level because he said that it wouldnt tell us anything.

      I think I will go for the mag chloride baths, I saw some websites that sold the stuff for aquariums in bulk, but yeah it is still expensive. I’ve spent a lot of money in the last year on IBD, so have to be careful, but it sounds like its worth trying. How long do you soak for? 30 mins?

      October 9, 2010 at 6:45 pm

  6. Yes, 20-30 minutes. I meditate, read, or do crossword puzzles. 😉

    October 12, 2010 at 11:51 am

Leave a Reply

