Need a microscope! (and yay new GI)

So I’m trying to get my hands on a used microscope so I can start doing McMaster egg counts, so I can at least track the egg output of the helminths. Anybody have any scientist friends? Fellow helminth-IBD-blogger-comrade Debora has been doing her own McMaster counts for some time now, and has posted how to do DIY helminth egg counts (she’s using hookworm for Crohn’s)

http://waitingforthecure.com/I/2009/05/29/did-my-first-mcmaster-egg-count/

While this would not necessarily tell me exactly how many worms “took,” it would at least allow me to do like a monthly egg count to track egg production, which I think would give me some idea if the population fluctuates, and would be useful in the future for if/when I add in more whipworm, and possible hookworm.

And update from last post: I finally met with my new GI who was very nice, quite familiar with helminthic therapy, and didnt recoil in horror like my last GI did when I mentioned the word helminths. She talked briefly about Weinstock and his “pioneering work” on helminthis and IBD, with a look of envy. A very big relief for me.

5 responses

  1. Donna Beales

    So relieved for you, friend! 🙂 Told you she was nice! I’m so glad I could be of some small amount of help! So next time you visit her, you visit me too, k?

    August 21, 2010 at 12:35 pm

  2. All thanks to you! It really is quite a relief. And yes we’ll meetup up at next opportunity for sure.

    August 21, 2010 at 1:05 pm

  3. All hail for fellow McMaster egg count IBD friends! I’ve been quite lonely over the last few years, wishing other helminth experimenters would join me and we could start collecting some interesting data. It really is quite simple once you get the hang of it. I’m doing them weekly right now to see when my new hookworms reach maturity. I also want to look at TSO under the microscope. It’s comforting to know that you’ve got some worms inside of you, especially when you ate too much Mexican food and are wondering if they died from your symptoms. I also have noticed a decline in efficacy about when my egg count drops, usually about 6 months post infection (when they should be peaking.)

    There are a lot of used microscopes on ebay. I asked around and ended up being loaned a really good one indefinately from a scientist who wasn’t using it. It’s fun when you see your first egg, and really fascinating to look at them up close. Let me know if you need any tips.

    August 28, 2010 at 3:28 pm

  4. I’m going to get one soon. But my semester’s starting (buy books etc), rent is due and my paychecks dont start coming for another month.

    My hope is that maybe by Thanksgiving break I can get my hands on a cheap one and start egg counting.

    August 30, 2010 at 8:45 pm

  5. Marc

    Hi Mike,

    We need to chat about the limitations of this assay, I think you changed your email address as I am having problems emailing you, can you email me with the new address.

    Talk soon
    Marc

    September 18, 2010 at 8:28 pm

Leave a Reply

