The Problem of Quantification

One of the frustrating things about using human whipworm is that I’m not able to quantify how many “survived” from inoculation. Best guesses are 10% which should put me at roughly 100 worms. But really its very far from an exact science. It’s possible that none survived, that the improvements I’ve seen in my bowels are merely coincidental (my IBD has always had periods of worse and better symptoms), I dont believe this is the case, but it is a possibility. Only with time I will slowly be able to have a better idea, and hopefully once I know more about how many worms might be alive. For those using hookworm, having at least a rough idea of how many worms they have is far easier as one inoculates with larvae and most are assumed to survive.

In 3 more months I’ll be sending Marc (Dr. of AIT) some stool for an egg analysis, which will tell me some information, but will not be able to quantify exactly either. Anybody out there using whipworm have any experience about this? I do know that one can “put a scope up there” (i.e. colonoscopy, to which I’m no stranger) and literally have a GI try to count them, but this is expensive and invasive, so I would prefer another method.

I’ll be starting with a new GI soon, who should be able (hopefully) to help me deal with some of the questions about measuring the efficacy of this therapy.

2 responses

  1. Hi, you could easily benefit from more helminths. Please contact us, as your contract with us demonstrates they are yours for just the cost of shipping.

    Jasper

    October 1, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    • Hi Jasper, glad to see you on here!

      I remember Marc and I had spoken about this, I too think going for more could be beneficial. I’ll email you guys and see if we can set this up.

      Thanks for all your hard work, and I hope your life has become more ‘settled’ than this time last year.

      October 3, 2010 at 11:05 pm

Leave a Reply

