A pretty solid update

Things feel pretty good, still holding steady bowel wise. On the whole I’ve had a solid bowel movement almost every day for about two or three weeks now. Last week I did have one day of mushy bowels, but no big deal. I’m still have one bowel movement a day on average, sometimes two.

I still have some brief sharp pain when “evacuating,” which I attribute to possible hemorrhoids (any tips on getting rid of these?). I’ve yet to check with a doc about this. Yesterday I did in fact have tiny spots of blood on TP, but this was definitely from a fissure, not IBD blood, I used to get these little spots often before IBD when I had normal bowel movements. Honestly I didnt have solid stools for 5+ years, so maybe its a bit of a shock to the system, and is doing some tearing.

I’m also coming up to a very stressful, annual time for me.. the beginning of the semester! Yikes. I’m going to be teaching my first class ever, so hopefully my little comrades hold things together for me.

9 responses

  1. Alli

    I’m getting ready to start my first academic teaching job in the middle of a flare. Yay. Hope the little guys continue to help you out!

    July 27, 2010 at 1:36 am

    • ugh no fun. good luck and take it easy on yourself

      July 29, 2010 at 4:20 pm

  2. John

    Hi

    Re the hemorrhoids, here’s a good general article on effective natural remedies for hemorrhoids from a highly respected UK/Irish doctor:

    http://www.drgaier.com/thismonth.html

    And an article specifically on pycnogenol:

    http://www.thehealthierlife.co.uk/natural-health-articles/healthy-living/pycnogenol-pine-bark-extract-health-benefits-93456.aspx

    July 27, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    • thanks for the articles, yeah I hope I can find something that works

      July 28, 2010 at 6:11 pm

  3. HS

    what part of the USA do you live in?

    July 27, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    • I live in new england

      July 28, 2010 at 6:06 pm

  4. John

    Sorry, that first link is now ‘dead’! Email me and I’ll send you a copy of the article.
    Alternatively you could try this, which is somewhat similar, but you need to sign up to the website to access it:

    http://www.wddty.com/hemorrhoids.html

    July 27, 2010 at 2:18 pm

  5. Brooke

    Try something with diosmin for the hemmoroids. Life extension makes some. Jarrow makes a product called Veinous PF that contains diosmin which is also quite good. I think pycnogenol has been shown to have good effects as well. Diosmin helps direct blood flow through veins and helps tighten walls. Things like pycnogenol, vitamin C, and bioflavanoids promote collagen formation, also strengthening vein walls. This is definitely something you can do something about.

    August 20, 2010 at 5:57 pm

  6. Very timely advice! I thought the roids had gone, but last two days I’ve been feeling it again, grrr. Time to get more aggressive than witch hazel wipes, etc. Veinous PF sounds good, I would imagine it takes a little while for that to work, being a supplement.

    Thanks!

    August 20, 2010 at 6:41 pm

Leave a Reply

