Past day 12/13 mark. Still feeling mostly good. Hemorrhoid advice?

I wrote in an earlier post that, learned in conversations with greater minds on whipworm that on day 12/13 the helminths molt and migrate to the colon, their permanent home and final destination. Also, this is when the peak of side effects was supposed to occur, with effects lasting for a few days to a week after, then (hopefully) going away. So I’ve definitely passed this mark, as today is day #15 since inoculation. Over the weekend, I went to a lake house to celebrate 4th of july, and felt mostly good. I did have some nausea at moments, in the car ride up, also on the morning of the 4th. Also, my throat became sore two days ago, and was tight/slightly swollen (like an allergic reaction almost), but seems to be better now. Generally over the past 4-5 days I’ve been feeling more lethargic than usual, with no energy to bike ride or jog outside, and have been feeling some of that difficult to describe “brain fog” that many people with autoimmune diseases know well.

My bowels have been good actually, still no diarrhea at all. The one major problem is that I’m having some considerable pain in my lower rectum/anus during bowel movements, and I can only imagine this is a hemorrhoid or an anal fissure (tear). Honestly it feels like having little razor blades in my rectum, but only hurts during a bowel movement. There is almost no blood, I’ve just seen a little spotting once or twice on the tissue.

I don’t know exactly how this is related to my helminths, but I assume it is given the timing, and that I’ve never had this problem before. My suspicion is that this may actually be because I’ve had a few fully formed and solid bowel movements, which my rectum/anus is not used to thanks to 5+ years of constant loose stools because of my colitis. Anyone with whipworm out there have a similar experience?

This is also a plea for advice! Despite having awful IBD symptoms, I’ve never had hemorrhoids (I have had many small fissures) and don’t know what to do. Do I wait it out? Prep H? Should I alter my diet? Lube? I read somewhere that witch hazel wipes are good.. anyone out there have any tips?

One response

  1. MG

    How’s it going so far? Any updates?

    July 15, 2010 at 8:02 pm

Leave a Reply

